School History

The history of School of Education began 2008 when the University decided to launch various Education Degree Programmes in the former Faculty of Science. Initially, it was launched as a prospective department under the Department of Social Sciences, eventually Department of Education. The original Department of Education was founded in 2008 and became the School of Education in 2021. It is one of the research-led schools of education in Tanzania with academic staff who teach more than 2,000 students. It is also home to a number of departments, units and centres.

The School of Education offers various courses in Education mainly, Bachelor of Education (Arts and Sciences), Postgraduate Diploma in Education, Master of Education, and Doctor of Philosophy in Education.